walking

My son was born in an Adventist hospital in Maine. In the lobby of the hospital, there was a spinner containing a wide array of pamphlets. I passed over the ones with an overt religious theme, but one in particular caught my eye. It was entitled “Walking: The Miracle Medicine.” Now, when I was younger, single, and childless, going to the gym was a big part of my life. Sometimes, I would even do what we used call in football practice “double sessions,” meaning on some days I would visit the gym twice a day. Now don’t get me wrong. I highly value physical fitness, but when you have children, double sessions at the gym are a thing of the past. So now, I try to swim on my lunch breaks at work, and walk at least four miles a day. Lately I’ve started to understand the truth behind the phrase that walking is indeed the miracle medicine. You can read Thoreau’s complete essay on walking here.

Leave a Reply

