river of grass

I am currently reading The Everglades: River of Grass by Marjory Stoneman Douglas. In this book, she talks about what I would call the Old Florida, a land that tragically doesn’t exist anymore. The beauty of the prose is breathtaking. I love Florida, despite the criticism that many people level against the state. I love the tropical climate, the mixture of languages and cultures, and of course the bright blue expanse of sea and sand. I know many people who have lived in Florida or who even live there now who say, “Don’t move to Florida.” But I think the places we inhabit exist for the most part in our minds. You can create your own Florida, or your own Maine, or your own Paris or New York. I would encourage anyone who cares about the environment to read this book. Besides the pleasure that it will give you, it may inspire you to protect your own natural surroundings, and to appreciate the fragile natural world we inhabit.

Leave a Reply

