anger trounced by The Hockey News

I was having a bad day. I was tired from a long work week and I had a long Saturday of parenting ahead of me. Before breakfast, my son stuck his finger in the electric can opener and screamed bloody murder, and I knew it was really my fault because I turned my head for one second to check on my eggs. (I’m reading a book right now called “Anger” by the esteemed Buddhist scholar (and father of Uma) Robert Thurman, but it didn’t help me this morning.) As the day wore on, I felt that bitter mixture of fatigue and frustration, not even being able to really put my finger on the cause. Then this week’s issue of The Hockey News arrived in the mail. I started leafing through it on the porch, in the sunshine, and noticed that they had printed my letter to the editor that I wrote a few weeks ago. I had completely forgotten about it, but when I saw it in print, all of a sudden my anger vanished. This small act changed my whole outlook. A few posts ago I talked about anger. I noticed today that when you’re in the thick of it, it really does seem like a hell with no way out. But sometimes the simplest gift can vanquish it in an instant, proving again that the mind can be a tricky companion. Today, The Hockey News saved my life.

Leave a Reply

