naked haiku

I don’t have anything to say today, so I give you a journal entry of Zen master Soen Nakagawa Roshi, from his book of poetry and prose, Endless Vow:

Summer 1938
(Another trip to Manchuria)

Deep at night I had a dip in a hot spring, surrounded by the vast plains. I looked up at the constellations; the stars were dancing in the field of the sky. I was totally absorbed in “this Matter” and vowed to settle in a hut on Mount Dai Bosatsu.

Distant thunder
various races naked
in the stone tub

2 comments

  1. Mike

    Glad to see Henry is back in full swing. What type of Buddhism do you follow? I told a friend about your site and she was curious…

  2. henry

    That is a good question. I don’t really follow any particular school, although I’m probably closest to the Soto school of Zen and find inspiration in the writings of Dogen. Mostly I just try to follow the precepts and be present for others. And like Soen Roshi, I like to sit in hot springs.

Leave a Reply

