demon rice cakes

More thoughts on food from Soen Roshi’s journal, dated Autumn, 1931:

“On October 3, I made a vow to live on one meal a day, following the teachings of early Buddhist scriptures. This has resulted in a new-day clarity and expansiveness in my life…Since making that vow, I have been experiencing the joy of practicing it. One evening I hear a Zen teacher tell in his lecture about eating forty-nine sweet rice cakes at a time when he was young. I am appalled. But on the way back, I stop at a bakery and buy one of those cakes. It is like the initial gunshot breaking the silence. It creates explosive desire. One calls for another, and another. I become so angry, even while devouring this unhealthy food, that I feel like a demon.”

Leave a Reply

