tanzan redux

CabinReplicaCatHall

Funny that in the fall of 2007, after blogging for only six months, I made an announcement calling it quits. Six years, and 230 posts later, I’m still here. But I’m reaching that point again. Not to leave completely, but just to take a breather. There has to be another option between the two extremes of loneliness and social media immersion. The momentary ego boost I get from publishing a blog post eventually leads to a kind of low-key despair and I realize I need to turn my attention to more personal, private matters. To maybe create art without actually sharing it, or at least not share it right away. To concentrate on more sustained, long-term work. To perfect and polish.  To read, surf, splash paint in my hair, listen to old vinyl, play with my kids, go on dates with my wife, take long walks at night, and to hope for the occasional sauna.

That’s really not too much to ask. That’s called real life.

So. Henry is going on vacation, his virtual cabin in the woods shuttered for the time being. I wish you all a very happy autumn and winter. Stay warm, both physically and metaphysically.

See you on the other side of the pond, after the thaw.

Leave a Reply

