modest goals

pomegranate

The weather in Maine this morning looks like the zombie apocalypse. Here are the signs:

Dark skies, whipping rain, leaves being ripped from near-bare tress, an unseasonable humid warmth to the air,  flashing emergency vehicles, college kids in flip-flops.

With the help of a friend, I re-decked my porch yesterday. At forty-six years of age, I’ve finally discovered the all-consuming erotic pull of power tools.

If my boss gives me the day off on Friday, I plan on re-plastering and painting my dining room ceiling.

My wife and I went to the hardware store last night after dinner and looked at tubs and lighting fixtures.

These are strange times indeed.

Winter is right around the corner, so that means it’s time for me to come up with my yearly list of survival strategies. Assuming the zombies don’t attack, I’ll try to continue with habits developed during past winters: getting plenty of exercise, drinking healing broths, wearing warm socks, being mindful of my dosha, taking the occasional sauna with friends, and when budget allows, going out for sushi and gelato afterwards. Winter in Maine turns all of us into the huddling masses. But there is hope. It’s early yet, but here’s what I’ve come up with. It’s a short list, but the less I have to strive for, the greater my chances of making it to March 2014 without hurting anyone:

1. Run more.

2. Eat one pomegranate per day.

3. Start downhill skiing (again).

That’s it. What are yours?

 

2 comments

  1. Sam

    1. Start planning seedlings to start for garden in Spring.
    2. Fly to Thailand in early December for 4 months.
    3. Bodysurf, play frisbee, dance, and eat good fresh Thai food.
    4. Come back in April hopefully having avoided the worst of it.

Leave a Reply

